PG Cooper: Wrath of the Titans Review

Posted: April 12, 2012 by PG Cooper in PG Cooper's Movie Reviews

Release date: March 30th, 2012

Running time: 1 hour and 40 minutes

Written by: Greg Berlanti, David Leslie Johnson, and Dan Mazeau

Based on: The film Clash of the Titans, written by Beverley Cross

Directed by: Jonathan Liebesman

Starring: Sam Worthington, Liam Neeson, and Ralph Fiennes

 

2010’s Clash of the Titans was a bad movie, no question. It was boring, with weak effects, and overall was pretty poor. The film even placed 8th on my 2010 worst of list. That said, it wasn’t completely horrible, in fact had it come out in 2011, it definitely would not have made my worst of list. But more importantly, there was potential to make a fun movie out of the story of the Olympian Gods. Unfortunately, Wrath of the Titans is actually worse than its predecessor.

 

The film takes place ten years after Clash of the Titans. Perseus (Sam Worthington) is living a humble existence as a fisherman with his young son. One evening he is approached by his father Zeus (Liam Neeson) who warns him of coming dangers. Perseus ignores these warnings. Later, Zeus enters the Underworld to make a deal with Hades (Ralph Fiennes). However Hades betrays Zeus and begins to drain his power to bring back their father Kronos. So Perseus has to gather his forces and save Zeus, as well as the entire world.

 

The biggest crime Wrath of the Titans commits is being boring. You have a movie about Gods and demigods, it should be exciting. But instead, the film is very dull. A large part is because you don’t care about characters or the story, but there’s actually more to it than that. I’ve seen films where I didn’t care about the story or characters, but I still find myself entertained by the action. Not here. I found the action scenes very static and uninteresting. I just found the action scenes were very poorly done.

 

The cast here is pretty bad. I was particularly disappointed with Sam Worthington. Worthington wasn’t good in the first movie either, but I know he’s a solid actor, and at least in the first film he had an arc. Starting out as a peasant before growing and accepting he is a demigod. Here, Perseus doesn’t have anything going on. I wouldn’t really mind if he was an interesting or cool character, but he isn’t. He’s just some boring dude who only exists to go from scene to scene as the movie progresses. Same goes for Toby Kebbell as the theoretical comedic relief and Rosamund Pike as the obligatory love interest. I’m not criticizing these actors either, since they are given nothing to do. The sad thing is actors like Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes are actually okay here, but it’s wasted on such a poor film.

 

You’d think a movie like this would have an epic feel, but the whole thing feels rather small scale. The main problem for this is while the movie doesn’t waste time getting into the story, the plot never really gets off the ground. It never grabs your interest. Only a few times did the movie start to catch my attention, and every time the film ruined it. On top of that, the dialogue here is abysmal.

 

Wrath of the Titans is poor film making on nearly every level. The only thing in the film’s favour is that most of the special effects are good. They aren’t spectacular, but they’re serviceable. And I suppose I will give some credit to actors like Ralph Fiennes, Liam Neeson, and even Danny Huston. But everything else is garbage. The characters, writing, direction, dialogue, and story structure. Avoid Wrath of the Titans at all costs.

 

Rating: F

Comments
  1. Ipodman says:

    I haven’t seen Wrath of the Titans, but Clash of the Titans wasn’t that bad to me… I actually think Sam Worthington is an above-avergae action star o.O

  2. I can’t concur with an F… I mean, I can see calling it bad. But some of the fight scenes/special effects/production values elevate it above the pit of the completely foul and utterly hopeless.

    I enjoyed myself for good stretches of it. I agree, it’s got a lot of boring stuff, and the acting was pretty rough, but I dont know if I’d call it a total fail.

    Not that I want to position myself as a fan of this one or anything…

  3. sanclementejedi says:

    OMG, worse than Clash of the Titans !!!! How is that even possible? Thanks for adding this to my must avoid list :-)

Leave a Reply

