PG Cooper: 7 X 7 Link Award

Posted: September 3, 2012 by PG Cooper in Commentary

Thanks to the awesome Paula Guthat, of Paula’s Cinema Club, I’ve been fortunate enough to receive the 7 X 7 Link award. Similarly to the Liebster award, the idea is to introduce blogs you follow and discover new ones.

The 7 x 7 Award highlights a blogger’s favourite pieces of work and is passed on to others so that they too can do the same as a way to promote posts and/or blogs.

 

I’m also obligated to answer seven questions. Cool! Let’s do it.

1. Tell everyone something that no one else knows about you.

People who know me in “real life” know this, but I’m a fan of Heavy Metal and have seen a lot of concerts, the last of which being Iron Maiden with Alice Cooper opening.

2. Link to one of the posts that I think best fits the following categories:

 

a. Most beautiful piece: Though not published on my site, my post “Me, My Dad, and the Movies” is easily my most heartfelt article. In it, I describe the effect of growing up watching movies with my Dad and how are mutual movie viewing has changed over the years.

b. Most helpful piece: I’m going to go with my list of “Top-Ten Underrated Performances”. Mainly because I was bringing attention to performances that are ignored and I hope people give them a second look.

c. Most popular piece: My “Top Twenty Batman: The Animated Series Episodes” has the most views of any article I’ve written. I’m glad because Batman: The Animated Series is awesome.

d. Most controversial piece: Probably my review for The Dark Knight Rises. I wrote a mostly negative review and ended up giving the film a C, which I stand by. Everyone in the comments was very respectful, but there were a lot of varying opinions being given. Usually the comments sections of my posts are unanimous agreement or disagreement, for the most part. The Dark Knight Rises is my only post that really changed that.

e. Surprisingly successful piece: My review for Big Miracle. This review has tons of views. People love their whales I guess.

 

f. Most underrated piece: My review of the entire Dirty Harry series received very little views and comments I guess, but that’s fine. I don’t really saying any of my works are underrated though, just feels weird.

g. Most pride-worthy piece: I’m really fond of my comparison of Rosemary’s Baby and Alien, the tie biding them being their both pregnancy horror films. I think that was a fun and clever idea and I think I did a solid job comparing the two. People in the comments seemed to enjoy it too.

3. Pass this award on to se7en bloggers.

Ian-Ian’s Lists, Bits, and Reels

Fogs-Fog’s Movie Reviews

Tim-Tim’s Film Reviews

Chris-Terry Malloy’s Pigeon Coop

Alyson-The Best Picture Project

Terrence-The Focused Filmographer

Dracula-The Movie Vampire

And if any of you have already received this, feel free to pass it on to a blog you deem worthy. I’d like to thank Paula one more time for giving me the opportunity to do this.

Comments
  1. Me, My Dad and the Movies was an awesome job, PG. No doubt about it. And it was a big hit, too, people really took to it well.

    I was happy to be a part of that. :D

    Honored here, too. Thanks, man!

  2. Thanks for the award, really appreciate it! I’ll be sure to check out some of the pieces you mention above, too. I especially like the sound of the Alien/Rosemary’s Baby feature.

  3. Yay thanks for the award :D
    I dont normally do these award things but i will eventually get some done and i will remember this :D

  4. alysonkrier says:

    Thanks Cooper, honored to be one of the seven! Love these posts, especially Me, My Dad and The Movies.

Leave a Reply

