Easy A Review

Posted: September 26, 2010 by Daniel Simpson (PG Cooper) in PG Cooper's Movie Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

 

I went into this, not knowing much. I hadn’t seen any of the trailers, I wasn’t familiar with any of the actors other films, and I hadn’t seen anything else from director Will Gluck. The only thing I knew going in was that the film was in many ways a tribute to the films of John Hughes. Being someone who enjoys most John Hughes films, I figure I’d at least somewhat enjoy this. But does Easy A deliver?

 

Easy A follows high school student Olive Penderghast (Emma Stone). Olive is a well-behaved kid, clean cut, normal student. But after a misunderstanding with her best friend Rhiannon (Aly Michalka), rumors spread that Olive lost her virginity to a guy at community college. Over night, Olive goes from being unnoticed to the tramp of the school. Olive finds she enjoys the attention and goes along with it. She confesses to her homosexual friend Brandon (Dan Byrd) that she never had sex with anyone. This gives him the idea that he and Olive can say they have sex, without actually doing it, so Brandon won’t be bullied anymore. Though she agrees, she’s later approached by other unpopular kids at school paying her to say that she had sex with them to boost their popularity. But as the movie goes on, what was once popularity slowly but surely changes to infamy. Stress starts to pile up and Olive has to find a way to turn her reputation around.

 

Most of the movie rests on the shoulders of Emma Stone. For the most part, she does a good job. Most of the best dialogue goes to her, and she does a good job as Olive. Though I do have issues with her character because the film tries to sell her as a nerd who goes unnoticed by the opposite sex. Yet, Emma Stone is clearly gorgeous. And not only that, but her best friend is also gorgeous. There is no way, no way, that she would go completely unnoticed. But still, Emma Stone does a good job here.

 

The rest of the cast is really a mixed bag. Even the characters I enjoyed, got on my nerves from time to time. Most of these characters are over the top stereotypes, and aren’t believable at all. The worst example of this is the character Marianne Bryant, played by Amanda Bynes. Marianne is an uptight christian who is very much against Olive’s activities. While I like the idea of the character, she is played so over the top that she doesn’t feel real. I realize there are uptight religious people out there, but her character goes way too far. Some of the over the top characters worked for me, such as her gay friend Brandon. Yeah, he’s over the top, but he had some funny moments. But all the characters had moments that annoyed me. Even my favourite characters, Olive’s parents (Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson) had moments that really tested my patience.

 

I really like the idea for this movie. The setup could have made a great, hilarious comedy. Unfortunately, it doesn’t really do that. Much like the characters in the film, the humour is very hit or miss. The movie has a few funny moments, and one scene in particular that I found very funny. But overall, the film definitely misses more often then it hits. Originally, the film was written to be a rated R comedy, and seeing as this is sort of a sex comedy, it would have been better with an R rating.

 

Although I said I like the idea, I do think the movie goes way too far. Throughout the film, things keep escalating far beyond the realms of plausibility. Especially in the third act, when they try to wrap everything up. It gets so ridiculous that you can’t believe it at all. Since this is a comedy, I would have accepted an implausible story if it had been funny, but since the film doesn’t deliver on the laughs either, there isn’t much there.

 

I think it’s pretty clear that I wasn’t crazy about this. There wasn’t a lot to latch on to, the characters are just stereotypes, and the film isn’t that funny. That said, there’s a certain charm to Emma Stone in this, and there is just enough laughs for Easy A to scrape by. Not terrible, but not great either.

 

5.5/10

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Jonathan says:

    Huh! It’s really that bad?! And I was planning to see it next week! Well there’s always The Town to watch

  2. Sheila says:

    Good review! However, something should be pointed out…aside from the John Hughes reference, looking further back this movie has shades of the The Scarlett Letter, written by Nathaniel Hawthorne in 1850.

    I am sure you will find common themes of sin, guilt and dignity share a common thread in this movie and those it draws from.

    Regards,

    Sheila (Ian’s Mum)

  3. pgcooper1939 says:

    Thanks Sheila. I noticed those references, but I didn’t comment on them mainly because I’ve never read The Scarlet Letter.

    And yes, I’d strongly recommend The Town.

  4. Andra Martin says:

    Good for you Dan, you went and saw a girls movie it shows that you are more of a man then what some may not see. Although with your hair cut you look much better I don’t know what took so long for you to cut it.

Leave a Reply

