PG Cooper: Bridesmaids Review

Posted: July 30, 2011 by Daniel Simpson (PG Cooper) in PG Cooper's Movie Reviews

Release date: May 13th, 2011

Written by: Annie Mumolo and Kristen Wiig

Directed by: Paul Feig

Starring: Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph, Ross Byrne, Mellisa McCarthy, and Chris O’Dowd

Despite a rather annoying and unfunny trailer, Bridesmaids hit the screen with rave reviews. The film went on to gross over $200 million dollars. It seemed both critics and audiences loved the female driven R rated comedy. But now that I’ve seen it, I can honestly say I have no idea why.

The film follows Annie (Kirsten Wiig), a 30 some year old woman who’s life is in a rut. Her bills are piling, she works a dead end job, and the closest thing she has to a boyfriend is some dick using her for sex (Jon Hamm). Things get worse when her best friend (Maya Rudolph) begins planning her wedding, and Annie really begins to see how badly her life has fallen apart…and hilarity ensues.

And by hilarity I mean…a few funny moments. So many people praised how funny the film was, but personally, I found most of the jokes landed with a hollow thud. There were a lot of moments were the jokes were awkward and uncomfortable, or they started out funny until the film beat it into the ground. I’m not saying the film didn’t have it’s share of funny moments, it certainly did, but they were few and far between. I wasn’t alone in this opinion either. The theater was pretty silent throughout and strangely enough I think I laughed more than most of the people in there.

The film’s biggest crime isn’t it’s lack of laughs, it’s having the one of the most unlikable  protagonist I’ve seen in a long time. Annie is selfish, annoying, screws things up for everybody, sits around complaining about her life despite obvious solutions…and we’re suppose to root for this character. Why? I suppose the logic is because her life sucks we’re suppose to feel sorry for her. But everything that goes wrong in her life (and in the movie for that matter) is her fault. I’m not against having an unlikable protagonist at the heart of the film, but this film tries to get you to sympathize with the character. Plus, at the end of the movie, she doesn’t really learn a lesson. Despite all her poor behavior and stupid decisions, everything more or less works out for her. No real consequences whatsoever. I’d have gained a lot of respect for the film if they choose a less conventional ending where the poor choices Annie made left her alone and miserable. She’d realize the mistakes she’d made and would have to better herself in the future. But no, the film takes the cheap way out.

Some of the supporting cast were pretty funny. Mellisa McCarthy was by far my favourite as the foul-mouthed and outspoken Megan. She’s the over-the-top raunchy character that’s often seen in these type of films, but at least she kept me laughing consistency. The only other character I found genuinely funny was Jon Hamm. Hamm only has a few short scenes in here, but he was really amusing playing such a pompous character. Other then that, I also enjoyed Chris O’Dowd has the nice guy who Annie starts to like. O’Dowd isn’t really funny, but he was a genuinely nice person. Rather refreshing in a film populated almost entirely by scumbags.

I really don’t have much more to say about this film. It’s annoying and unpleasant, with only a few funny moments and characters. Humor is subjective, so I know a lot of people will probably find this hilarious. But I can’t see why anyone would like this character or want to spend an entire movie with her. I can only recommend this as a desperate rental or something you catch when it’s on T.V.

Rating: D

Comments
  1. Huh…

    I’ve heard good things. But I can imagine that a lot of that is enthusiam over finally getting a female centric comedy.

    Seeing as I missed it in theatres, and dont plan on rushing out to buy it on Blu, it’s no stretch to say I’ll take your advice and wait to check it out on cable. I’ll circle back with it then.

  2. ianthecool says:

    I’m hearing lots of great things about this, but I have a feeling my sentiments will probably match your own.

Leave a Reply

