PG Cooper: First Birthday and Updates

Posted: September 23, 2011 by Daniel Simpson (PG Cooper) in Commentary

Today we celebrate a great thing. On this day one year ago, a glorious thing happened, PG Cooper’s Movie Reviews was born.

Okay, so maybe it isn’t that big a deal, but personally, I’m pretty proud. When I started this site, I had no idea how long I’d be writing for. It didn’t take long for blogging to become one of my favourite hobbies. My first post was a review for The Town. Re-reading that review, I cringe at how awkward it is. I’d like to think my reviews have improved drastically since then. I realize I’m not Roger Ebert, but my work has definitely got better.

Since that first post, I’ve written 50 other reviews, one “Movie of the Month,” eight retrospectives, two rants, two top ten list, on top twenty five list (broken in five parts), eleven awards post, and an introduction. This, in combination with all of HT Schuyler posts, adds up to 111 posts. And that number isn’t counting this post, or other drafts we have written which we’re either working on or saving for later. I’m really proud of all the work we’ve put into this and I’m happy of what we’ve accomplished.

But enough of us patting ourselves on the back, we’ve got some quick updates of what to expect. I’m currently putting a Star Wars related list together. I can’t say when I’ll finish it, hopefully soon. On top of that, I have a James Bond post and Batman post which I have completed. Those should each be published in the next month or so. Next week, I’ll probably put up another “Movie of the Month”, and I believe Schuyler wants to as well (if he has time). Speaking of Schuyler, I know he has more “Remake Comparison” ideas. I can’t say when those will be published, but I do know he wants to return to the series.

As for reviews. While I am seeing up to six 2011 films this weekend, I don’t know if I’ll be able to write a proper review for any of them. I’ll do my best to get something out though. One final thing I wanna mention is the “PG Cooper’s Movie Awards”. I had a lot of fun doing them last year and I look forward to doing it again this year. I’ve added to new awards, Best Editing and Best Set-Piece. I won’t be doing these for a while (at the earliest January), but I felt like bringing it up. The fact is there is a lot of competition already and we’re just starting to get into award season now.

To close out, I’d like to say thank you to anyone and everyone who has come by our site and read something, even if it was just one post. If you’d like to follow our blog, you can follow us on twitter, facebook, or subscribe via email. All of these options are available on the left side of the site. We hope you’ve enjoyed reading our work and we hope you continue to. Here’s to another year of blogging.

HT Schuyler and I

 

Comments
  1. ianthecool says:

    50 reviews in a year is quite a lot. You are seeing 6 movies this weekend? Man, I wish. My own blog is probably coming up on… two years I guess. Yours is a lot more focused than mine however. Keep it up!

    Will Contagion or Moneyball be any of the movies you see this weekend? They both interest me.

    • pgcooper1939 says:

      I’ve already seen Contagion. As for Moneyball, I want to see it, but I may have to postpone that for next weekend. Leaving me at four movies this weekend (so far I’ve seen The Help and Arthur).

      As for Contagion, you could read my review, but I’ll just cut to the chase and say it was good, but had the potential to be a lot better.

  2. Alright! Happy Blogday!

    You do a great job here, I definitely like what you’ve got going on, and the upcoming posts you have planned sound awesome. Star Wars? Bond? Batman? In, In and In! Can’t wait.

    Here’s to many happy returns and I hope your blog achieves everything you set out for it!

  3. Castor says:

    Happy blog anniversary folks! Keep up the good work and here is to a successful 2nd year :D

Leave a Reply

