HT Schuyler: Happy Halloween!

Posted: October 31, 2011 by htschuyler in Commentary

As another Halloween roles around, I regret to write that I haven’t been able to post anything Halloween/horror related in time for the holiday, mainly due to the fact that time has not really been on my side since the summer ended. So I decided I’d take the opportunity (and I believe I speak for both PG Cooper and myself) in wishing everyone a Happy Halloween! Take the time to indulge in some horror films, or let nostalgia take over and watch It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown. Either way, have a good one.

Just so I don’t feel like I’m totally cheating, I’ll write a quick list of my favorite original (in other words, non-remake) horror films from the past decade:

Insidious (2011)

Just in case you missed my review, I’ll recap: I love this movie. A film that pays homage to past classics while still being an effectively horrifying film itself. Sheer brilliance.

The Devil’s Rejects (2005)

PG Cooper and I both agree, this movie kicks ass! Its sheer brutality and incredibly disturbing character’s make this one that won’t soon be forgotten.

The Collector (2009)

Imagine Home Alone if the traps the kid set out were made by Jigsaw. Sound awesome? It is.

Trick ‘r Treat (2009)

A horror anthology film that doesn’t care how far it goes. I mean it seriously pushes the limits of what is and what isn’t acceptable for horror films. But at the same time, it never loses it’s sense of dark comedy. Genius.

Cloverfield (2008)

Debatable whether this is a horror film or not, it’s still a damn scary and effective monster experience that leaves you shocked and wanting more.

Dead Snow (2009)

More or less “Nazi Zombies” the movie. Need I say more?

Frozen (2010)

I love this movie. Want to know why? Read my review…

Dead Silence (2007)

Often dismissed as garbage, I really love this movie. Some great scenery and visuals, good unique scares and a pretty creative plot. Check it out.

Hostel (2005)

Disturbing, twisted, sick, hard to watch violence that will leave you wanting a shower. It’s awesome. Same goes for the sequel…just not as enthusiastically.

The Orphanage (2007)

Not to be confused with The Orphan, this is a brilliant Spanish ghost film that left me speechless.

Saw (2004)

Yes, I love the Saw movies. No, I won’t explain why.

The Human Centipede (First Sequence) (2010)

As I said in my review, I don’t exactly like this movie as much as I respect it, as it pretty much takes the cake for originality.

Black Sheep (2006)

Killer sheep. I repeat, KILLER SHEEP. Need I say more?

Final Destination (2000)

This film, and it’s sequels, are not exactly scary, but they do raise the bar on the entertainment meter, and for that they deserve some recognition.

28 Days Later (2002)

Debatable whether or not the “monsters” in this film are or are not zombies, it’s still one of my all time favourite horror films, and it’s sequel (despite being unneeded) is pretty good too.

The Descent (2005)

Another one of my all time favourites, this movie pushes the scares to the extreme, and will remain in your conscious long after the credits have rolled. As for the sequel…just watch this one again.

Shaun of the Dead (2004)

I personally don’t really consider this a horror film, but screw it, it’s still one of the funniest zombie movies ever made and is a must see for zombie/horror fans alike.

Cabin Fever (2004)

A film that is somewhat an inside joke between PG Cooper and I, but it honestly took  me a while to really decide how I felt about it, and for that, it deserves a mention. Actually, I still don’t really know how I feel about this movie…

The Others (2001)

A brilliant ghost story that relies on atmosphere and tone instead of violence. It messes with your brain you leaves you stunned.

Well, those are all of the ones I can think of for now. I’m sure I’m forgetting some, and keep in mind I’m excluding remakes, prequels, whatever. Original only. I decided to keep it to this decade, otherwise the list would be huge.

So again, have a Happy Halloween from HT Schuyler and PG Cooper.

Comments
  1. I gotta check out Insidious. Its gotten some good buzz.

    Glad to see the Others and The Orphanage getting some love. Great flicks, even if neither of them are the scariest things ever…

    Trick R Treat IS genius, glad to see it getting some love too!

    I’ve seen most of them, they are all good. MAY just have to check out Black Sheep now, I guess you didnt need to say any more after all. LOL :D

  2. Jersey says:

    I am so late for this post. Anyway, I LOVE Shaun of the Dead, such a classic!
    And The Others… a perfect example of how to scare people without showing them anything, just suggesting and evoking.
    Saw is just genius. Only the first one, though.

Leave a Reply

