PG Cooper: Liebster Blog Award

Posted: December 21, 2011 by Daniel Simpson (PG Cooper) in Commentary

I started writing here for one reason; because I love films. My goal wasn’t to become a well-known blogger, or to win awards, or to eventually make film reviews a career. I just love movies and wanted to talk about them. That said, it is really nice to get positive feedback. I love responding to comments and it’s even better when someone tells me they saw a movie based on my recommendation and liked/loved it. Yeah, it’s nice to get some recognition. Recently I received huge recognition from Alyson, the writer of The Best Picture Project.

It’s a huge honour, but before I continue with the award itself and the responsibilities that come with it, I wanna take the time to say thank you to Alyson and promote her blog. Straight up, her blog is one of the best out there. She’s done the intense task of watching and reviewing all the Academy Award Best Picture nominees. Every single nominee (minus a few “lost” films). On top of that, she’s begun reviewing films which weren’t nominated for Best Picture, but perhaps should have. All of her reviews are well-written and interesting, and Alyson always gets to the heart of the film she’s reviewing. If you’re a film fan, The Best Picture Project is a must read. Thank you Alyson!

Now as for the award itself. The idea is the award is something of a pay it forward exercise. If you get, you have to pick some of your own favourite blogs and bloggers and spread the award to them. It’s a way to get some of the lesser known blogs out there. The rules are:

  1. Thank the blogger that awarded you and link them.
  2. No counter-nominating allowed
  3. Mention up to five other bloggers who you think deserve the award and leave comments on their blogs.
  4. Copy the award to your blog.

So it’s time I honour some blogs with Liebster Blog Awards of their own. These are five of my favourites.

  • Fogs Movie Reviews: Fogs just started blogging in the last few months, and already he’s become a highly active blogger. He’s been featured on the LAMB cast, and has his own recurring podcast. He writes reviews for new films, but also reviews classics in his “Movies Everyone Should See” category, and he also looks at TV, underrated films, guilty pleasures, and a lot more. Finally, he aims to get a new post out every day. Now that’s dedication
  • IantheCool’s Movie Reviews: Reviews of current films, plus reviews of board games and Blu Rays. Ian also writes a ton of great top ten lists, some objective, some subjective. These lists are sometimes based on film, but also sometimes on history. But my favourite of his posts his the excellent AFI recap he did. Great site, check it out.
  • Gatto Reels: Thomas Gatto may not put up posts as frequently as say, Fogs, but when a review does come, you know it’s something special. Gatto’s reviews are always in depth analysis of films and always make for a good read. He reviews new films, and classics. The dude is also featured on web-radio show, where he reviews films.
  • Cinema Sights: Another site full of in depth film reviews. While there are reviews on current films, James Blake Ewing tends to focus on older ones too. You’ll also find a ton of marathons including all the Bond films and IMDB top films he hadn’t seen. A great site, with well-written reviews.
  • The Movie Vampire: If you were to ask me where to find some of the best movies reviews on the net, I’d immediately recommend you check out The Movie Vampire. The site started back in 2007 and is still going strong. Every review is well-written and I still go to the site frequently, whether I’m looking at reviews of what’s playing now, or what was playing four years ago. This reviews were also the first I started reading and inspired my own writing to a certain degree. Bottom line, if you’re into films, I highly recommend The Movie Vampire.

Happy Holidays!

 

 

Comments
  1. “Now that’s dedication”

    Or insanity dude. Just being honest. :D

    So I need to pass this along, is that the drill? But I cant include you…

    Hermmmmm….

    I will think about this….

    Meanwhile, thanks for the shout outs man. You know how it is, the comraderie is half the juice that keeps you going on this whole blogging thing.

  2. ianthecool says:

    Hey, thanks for the shout out PG. I guess I’ll have to pick some other sites now.

Leave a Reply

