PG Cooper: Batman The Animated Series: A Retrospective, Volume Four

Posted: January 16, 2012 by Daniel Simpson (PG Cooper) in Retrospectives

Movie- Batman and Mr. Freeze: SubZero

Written by Boyd Kirkland and Randy Rogel. Directed by Boyd Kirkland.

After the containment unit that’s keeping Nora Fries alive shatters, she begins to regress and needs an organ transplant fast. Having a rare blood time, Mr. Freeze’s options are limited. He decides to use Barbara Gordon and kidnaps her. While this “SubZero” probably flows more naturally than “Phantasm”, overall it isn’t as good. One of the things that really bothers me is the metallic tinge on Freeze’s voice that was so prominent in “Heart of Ice” and “Deep Freeze” is completely gone now. I know this is a nitpick, but it does genuinely bother me. Also, while this is an entertaining story, there isn’t much to it. It’s not as deep as “Phantasm” was and when you really break it down, not much happens. The plus side is it’s very fast moving and all the action scenes are really good. Oh, and I really don’t like the little boy they have Mr. Freeze hanging out with. He doesn’t really serve a purpose and I prefer Freeze as a loner. His polar bears were pretty cool though. No pun intended. It probably sounds like I’m coming down on this quite a bit, but I do really like “SubZero”, It’s a lot of fun and I love the ending with Freeze finding some happiness.

086- Holiday Knights

Written by Paul Dini. Directed by Dan Riba.

And so begins the revamp episodes. Where after Superman The Animated Series, the animation style shifted and become more cartoony. I’m not gonna lie, I prefer the classic style from the original series, but the style isn’t bad. And of course, all the characters got redesigned, While a lot of villains appear here, I won’t be talking about each of their redesigns. I’ll just focus on the protagonists. Batman lost the yellow around his Bat-symbol and he’s got a lot more black on the suit, but he still looks really awesome. Batgirl’s revamp is one of the few that actually improved on the original. Her suit just looks a lot more professional, it has a sort of leather look, and the blue is a nice touch. Moving onto the episode…it’s a pretty weak start. The episode is divided into three Christmas related stories. The first has Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn mind control Bruce Wayne into buying them things. That is until he goes Batman on their asses. First off, why would they brainwash someone to shop for them when they just steal anything anyway? There’s also an extremely cringe-worthy shopping montage. I think what irks me the most in this segment is seeing a serious character like Poison Ivy doing so much goofy bull****. Especially since this is the first time we’ve seen her following the excellent “House and Garden”. The next segment pretty much revolves around Batgirl, Bullock, and Montoya trying to take down Clayface. What annoys me here is that this is the first time we’ve seen Clayface since “Mudslide”. At the end of “Mudslide” Clayface is believed to be back. I’m fine with bringing him back, but you need to explain it. And later on in the series, they do explain it in a really great episode. I will say there is one touching moment involving Bullock and a young girl. The next segment as the Joker attempting to kill a bunch of people at a New Years Party. This story isn’t bad, but it’s very bland. Also, Tim Drake is in this part as Robin even though they haven’t introduced his character yet. I do really enjoy the final bit at the end between Batman and Gordon, but that’s it.

087- Sins of the Father

Written by Rich Fogel. Directed by Curt Geda.

Big step up from the last episode. This episode introduces Tim Drake and we actually see how he became Robin. His origin story is pretty cool and well told. Tim himself, while something of an obnoxious kid, is pretty likable and clearly has some genuine problems. I will say that as much as I like seeing Two-Face, his part in the episode isn’t very interesting. Two-Face’s redesign is pretty good though. He looks the same, just sleeker really. I still prefer his old school look, but Two-Face adopted to the new look better than most villains. I also like how they reference Dick Grayson quitting as Robin while still keeping some mystery to it. I also like when Dick returns at the end. Overall, it’s not spectacular, but it is solid.

088- Cold Comfort

Written by Hilary J. Bader. Directed by Dan Riba.

Though Freeze’s wife Nora was revived, he’s become a monster and can’t be with her. This has made Freeze more bitter then ever and has begun to destroy what others love as revenge. This is the only Freeze episode (including SubZero) that I don’t like that much. First off, there’s a pretty crazy third act twist where Freeze’s condition has degraded him to nothing more than a head in a little robot thing. It’s a little bit hard to swallow, and had they tried to pull it in the classic episodes I doubt I’d have bought it at all. I also think Freeze’s scheme seems like something an angry emo kid would do. I realize Freeze has always been an angry and emotional character, but this is just too much. Oh, and I really dislike his redesign. I miss the retro look. And giving Freeze a bunch of annoying female henchmen who were blatant fan service (this season has a lot of fan service) was stupid. This isn’t a terrible episode, but it’s certainly not good.

089- Double Talk

Written by Robert Goodman. Directed by Curt Geda.

Arnold Wesker (the Ventriloquist) is released from Arkham with a clean bill of health. But his old criminal associates start trying to drive him insane so Scarface can return and continue planning jobs for them. Of all the episodes revolving around villains going straight, the Ventriloquist is one of the few who I actually can buy going straight. Mostly because the Ventriloquist himself always came off as a nice old man. It’s interesting watching Arnold adapt to a normal life and you root for him, wanting him to stay away from crime. As for the redesign, meh, it looks mostly the same, but I still prefer the classic look. Overall, I do really like this episode, it’s an interesting look at the Ventriloquist and it’s nice to actually see one of the villains actually get better and have a normal life.

090- You Scratch My Back

Written by Hilary J. Bader. Directed by Dan Riba.

This episode sees Dick Grayson, now the vigilante known as Nightwing, trying to distance himself from Batman. He begins to develop a relationship between Catwoman. I do really like the central concept of this episode, and overall, it’s pretty solid. The tension between Batman and Nightwing is present, but isn’t over blown. The design on Nightwing is also pretty cool. Though speaking of designs, I hate what they’ve done to Catwoman. She’s too small and for some reason her mouth is really pale when she’s in costume. Oh well, this is still a fun episode with a cool premise, good action, and a nice little twist near the end.

091- Never Fear

Written by Stan Berkowitz. Directed by Kenji Hachizaki.

For the first time since Volume One’s “Dreams in Darkness” we have an episode with Scarecrow as the main villain. Scarecrow has developed a new toxin that doesn’t instil fear, but rather takes fear away completely. While that doesn’t sound bad, it leaves it’s victims completely reckless. I actually really like the episode. The idea of fear being taken away was an interesting twist to a Scarecrow gimmick and far more creative than just being another fear-inducing gas. I also like watching Batman be exposed and truly seeing what a fearless Batman can be. This episode is also an important one for Robin (Drake) since he actually has to stand up to Batman and take him down. And of course, I have to talk about Scarecrow’s redesign. He looks completely different than before. He has a dark, black tench coat and hat, and a mask that is somewhat reminiscent of Leatherface. He looks pretty damn scary, and I really like this new look. They also recast the part, with Jeffrey Combs now providing the voice. While I do think Polic II did a very good job, Combs is awesome in the part too. Overall, it’s a great episode and probably my second favourite Scarecrow episode (behind “Dreams in Darkness”).

092- Joker’s Millions

Written by Paul Dini. Directed by Dan Riba.

The Joker is broke, but inherits a massive fortune from a former gang rival. I really don’t like this episode. It’s another story of a villain going legit, and I’d say it’s the worst one. I could accept Riddler, Poison Ivy, the Ventriloquist, etc being believed to be sane for two reasons. One, I don’t feel those were as big a stretch as the Joker. Two, those episodes were all good. After Joker inherits his money, he essentially buys his freedom. The rest of the episode is just him doing goofy things. The only thing I kinda I like are when Joker is auditioning alternative Harley’s, and when he goes to kill his replacement. The ending also does my least favourite thing, they make the Joker go look weak. I can’t stress how much that pisses me off. Dini’s worst episode.

093- Growing Pains

Written by Paul Dini and Robert Goodman. Directed by Atsuko Tanaka.

Robin stumbles across a little girl who doesn’t remember who she is. She is being pursued by a powerful man claiming to be her father. I really like this episode. For one thing, the whole mystery of who this little girl is is genuinely really interesting, and the reveal is pretty damn creepy too. I also thought it was a pretty creative twist. The sacrifice the girl makes is also extremely dark and really sticks with me. The episode also earns point for being important to Tim Drake. Once again, Drake has to stand up to Batman, but he also spends most of the episode working on his own. On top of that, he actually has to go through a dark tragedy. One of the best lines in the episode, said by Batman at the end, “Sometimes, there are no happy endings.” Really sums up the episode well. On top of that, there’s some cool action and great animation. I haven’t actually talked about this one too much in detail because I really don’t wanna spoil it. It’s a great episode though, and the first of the revamp that stands with the best from the classic series.

094- Love is a Croc

Written by Steve Gerber. Directed by Butch Lukic.

Baby-Doll and Killer Croc become a team/couple. I really liked Baby-Doll’s first appearance, but unlike tragic villains like Two-Face or Mr. Freeze, I think it’s harder to bring her back. At any rate, if there is a way to do it, this episode isn’t the right away. For starters, I don’t like the redesign on either character. Baby-Doll just looks weird, and Croc looks bigger, but more generic. Both these characters got recast too, and I don’t like either actor as much as the original. Though I never realized how much I valued Croc’s original voice actor, Aron Kincaid, until hearing his replacement. Incidentally, Aron Kincaid died back in January. I will give this episode some credit, Doll and Croc are an unexpected team up, but that’s about all this episode has going for it.

095- Torch Song

Written by Rich Fogel. Directed by Curt Geda.

This episode revolves around Firefly taking revenge on his ex girlfriend/pop singer. Alright, I have to get this out of the way, the song that his ex-girlfriend sings at the beginning is one of the worst songs I’ve ever heard. Alright, moving on. The episode has come cool set pieces, and I even like Firefly himself (he has a Fire Saber, that alone makes him kinda cool). But the episode has some really goofy stuff do. For example, why would Cassidy (Firefely’s ex) give Firefly a job as the pyrotechnician for her concert? This episode also has some lame dialogue, with Firefly getting a few fire-related puns. I will say I do like how bat**** crazy Firefly is, and like I said, good action, but overall, not a very impressive episode.

096- The Ultimate Thrill

Written by Hilary J. Bader. Directed by Dan Riba.

An adrenaline junkie/theif named Roxie Rocket appears in Gotham and challenges Batman. First off, Roxie is a very annoying villain who you don’t love to hate, you just hate. Her gimmick is she doesn’t steal really for profit, more for the thrill. To me, that’s way too similar to Catwoman. While they never said it in the series, I always got the impression that Catwoman stole for excitement and not for any real material gain. If they had made an episode about Catwoman’s fixation with theft, it probably would have been better than this episode. Roxie’s character outside of her addiction is pretty shallow. All they did was take one of Catwoman’s characteristics and blow it out of proportion. Now I will say there’s some cool action here and a nice scene where Batman confronts the Penguin (who’s revamp design looks pretty good), but other then that, this episode is pretty empty.

097- Over The Edge

Written by Paul Dini. Directed by Yuichiro Yano.

After three mediocre (at best) episodes, the series springs back with one of the best. After Batgirl is killed by the Scarecrow, Gordon learns that his daughter was Batgirl. Feeling betrayed, Gordon launches an attack on Batman. He discovers Batman’s alter ego, storms the cave, and even works with criminals in order to bring Batman down. There’s some fantastic animation in this episode, and all the action is great, but that’s not what makes this episode work. This is a very dark episode, with some very powerful moments. The scene where Batgirl falls to her death is one of the most brutal things I’ve ever seen in a “kids show.” Bob Hastings, who’d played Gordon from the beginning, delivers one of his best performances in this episode. It’s tragic seeing Gordon at such a low point, and you feel his pain. I think his best scene is the one right after Barbara dies, and he first confronts Batman. (“I worked with you, trusted you, and you never told me? She was my daughter, my daughter.”). Bane appears later in, and this time he’s far better than in his debut episode. His redesign is badass, and he’s actually an imposing threat. I know a lot of people don’t like the ending, but if you thought the producers would actually so many characters killed, you’re crazy. Besides, the final twist at the very end is really good, and I think the way it’s revealed is perfect. Overall, this is a fantastic episode and a highlight of the revamp episodes.

098- Mean Seasons

Written by Hilary J. Bader. Directed by Hiroyuki Aoyama.

A former model is taking her revenge on those who wronged her during her career. A big theme in the episode is aging. Bruce himself fears he’s getting older. It would make sense. Years have past since the start of Batman: The Animated Series, in both real life and the context of the series. Him being older would also explain his sidekicks taking on a bigger role this Volume: he’s old and needs the help. The problem is this is the only episode that addresses this, and Bruce’s own age is barely touched upon. It more revolves around this boring ass model villain. Another thing that bugs me is her henchmen. Yet again, we have a bunch of half naked goons running around, just this time their men. First we had Freeze’s squad of girls wearing no pants, and now this chick’s parade of guys with no shirts? Cut me a break. This episode is just really lame, and embarrassing as a fan.

099- Critters

Written by Steve Gerber and Joe R. Lansdale. Directed by Dan Riba.

In this episode, Batman, Robin, and Batgirl fight a bunch of giant farm animals created by Farmer Brown, a vengeful scientist/farmer. If that plot sounds stupid to you, that’s because it is. This episode is pretty goofy, but there’s a few redeeming features. One is these giant farm animals are genuinely pretty creepy. Instead of just being over sized animals, the artists gave them more hideous appearances, covering them in boils and giving them really messed up eyes. The other thing that elevates it is the actor who did the voice for Farmer Brown was really good. His voice was actually pretty darn creepy. Not a good episode, but not as bad as the premise would suggest.

100- Cult of the Cat

Written by Paul Dini and Stan Berkowitz. Directed by Butch Lukic.

Catwoman steals from a cult of cat worshipers and is being pursued relentlessly by them. This episode just feels lazy. I picture the thought process of the episode going like this: “Catwoman is a theif who likes cats. Let’s put her in a cult feel of thieves who like cats.” The spark that was once there between Batman and Catwoman is completely gone. The whole time I was waiting for Batman to pull a Danny Glover and say, “I’m too old for this ****.” I’ll admit there’s some fun action scenes, and a great scene where Batman interrogates a thug, but this episode just doesn’t have much going for it.

101- Animal Act

Written by Hilary J. Bader. Directed by Curt Geda.

A bunch of robberies are being committed by animals. Much to Nightwing’s surprise, he recognizes one of the animals from his days in the circus. The central plot is okay, and when you find out who’s behind it this everything it’s a pretty sweet reveal, and I believe I was genuinely surprised when I first saw it (can’t remember for sure). I don’t want to spoil it, so I can’t talk about the redesign for the character. I will say that while this character looks totally different than before, the new look works. But what really makes this episode work is the tension between Batman and Nightwing. Though they never have a straight up fight, you can tell their at odds with each other and it makes you want to know what exactly went down between the two of them. The only thing I don’t particularly like about this episode is the ending with Bruce and Dick at the circus talking so care free. That’s not to say they can’t have non-heated moments, but the end felt a little too, I don’t know, soft I guess, especially when the two had been at odds the entire episode. Oh well, this is still a solid episode and one of the better episodes recently.

102- Old Wounds

Written by Rich Fogel. Directed by Curt Geda.

After a few episodes hinting at the fallout between Bruce Wayne and Dick Grayson, we’re finally shown what happened between the two.Robin is on patrol on his own one night when he bumps into Nightwing. Robin asks what happened between him and Bruce, and the bulk of the episode becomes a flashback to what happened. I’m not gonna lie, this disc has been pretty weak. This is the only episode on it that I’d actually call great. It’s interesting watching how things played out between Bruce and Dick, and I like how it isn’t just one thing that ended the dynamic duo. It seems a mixture of jealousy, resent, and differing opinions. The Joker also makes a fun cameo and the episode has a lot of great moments. Now there’s a pretty big coincidence near the end that’s a bit of a stretch, but I’ll let it go because it leads to a nice moment. I have some problems mind you, for example there’s a lot of exaggerated animation that I’m not crazy about, but it’s not enough to derail the episode.

103- The Demon Within

Written by Rusti Bjornhoel & Stan Berkowitz. Directed by Atsuko Tanaka.

Despite this episode heavily revolving around magic and sorcery, it feels surprisingly low in scale. The character of Jason Blood is on death’s door, but we’ve never seen him before so we don’t really care. I also am not crazy about how they bring in a pretty badass character like Etrigan in, than barely do anything with him. On top of that, this episode isn’t all that memorable.That said, it’s never really bad, just not anything noteworthy.

104- Legends of the Dark Knight

Written by Robert Goodman and Bruce Timm. Directed by Dan Riba.

What a cool and creative episode. Three kids walk around talking about their interpretations of Batman. What’s really cool is that these interpretations are based on classic Batman styles. The first is based on the 1940’s Dick Sprang era, where Batman and Robin foil the Joker’s scheme to steal from a music store. This really feels like an old school cartoon, and I love the over-the-top music props. It’s the second interpretation that’s really badass. A version of Frank Miller’s masterpiece “The Dark Knight Returns”. It shows a combination of the two fights between Batman and the mutant leader. Also, Michael Ironside as the elder Batman was brilliant casting. They capture the art style and tone in this scene so well, I freaken love it. Now, the end of the episode is a bit weak. The “real” Batman fights Firefly in an abandoned movie theater. Um, okay? That’s kind of lame, but whatever. The rest is so awesome that it doesn’t matter.

105- Girls Night Out

Written by Hilary J. Bader. Directed by Curt Geda.

Batgirl and Supergirl team up to take down Livewire, Poison Ivy, and Harley Quinn. Of all the Superman villains they could have crossed over to Batman, it’s a shame that they went with Livewire, who is one of the most annoying villains on Batman TAS I’ve ever seen. I just wanted her to shut up the whole time. I also hate how the episode makes Harley Quinn look useless in the episode. Oh, and I don’t like the redesign of Poison Ivy at all. I miss when she looked human. Now on the plus side, I think Batgirl and Supergirl make for a fun pair, but the positives end there.

106- Mad Love

Written by Paul Dini and Bruce Timm. Directed by Butch Lukic.

Easily one of my favourite episodes. Harley Quinn flashes back to her days in Arkham and how the Joker seduced her. Before, we were never told about Quinn’s past, though it was hinted at. But to see her story actually unfold is quite interesting. The way Joker toys and manipulates her is amazing to watch. The relationship between Quinn and the Joker was usually played for laughs, but here the tone is more dramatic. You actually feel a lot of sympathy for Quinn and wanting her to just walk away. Arleen Sorkin delivers her best performance as Harley Quinn, showing both classic Harley stuff, but also some deeper and more emotional scenes. Another thing I love about it is, apart from the animation, this episode feels like an old school Batman The Animated Series episode. There aren’t any sidekicks, and the focus isn’t on strange gimmicks, but on the psychology of the characters. It’s definetly a stand out among “The New Adventures”, and it’s also one of the best Joker episodes. Oh, and about the redesigns. I don’t really like how Joker looks, but Harley looks almost identical to her original look, so that’s nice.

107- Chemistry

Written by Stan Berkowitz. Directed by Butch Lukic.

Right off the bat, I wanna say this write-up might be a bit spoiler-ish. The basic premise is that Bruce Wayne falls in love, gives up being Batman, and gets married. But of course, the marriage isn’t what it seems. First off, I think this is a great premise. The problems lie in the execution. I think the girl he falls for, Susan, should have been introduced maybe halfway through the season. We see her and Bruce develop a relationship over several episodes. That way the love story doesn’t feel contrived. We begin to like this character and want Bruce’s romance with her to work out. Then when Bruce proposes to her, it’s a big deal. But because all of this is condensed to a single episode, it doesn’t have the same impact. On top of that, not once do you believe it’s a genuine marriage, you know something’s gonna go down. I should be fair though, there are things I like here. For example, the premise is cool, and I like the reveal of what’s really going on. It’s not particularly bad, but it could have been a lot more.

108- Beware the Creeper

Written by Steve Gerber. Directed by Dan Riba.

The Joker inadvertently turns Jack Ryder into the Creeper, an insane vigilante. This is another episode which is full of wasted potential. For one, I think the Creeper was a fun character. He’s an insane laughing maniac and yet doesn’t feel like a Joker ripoff. But unfortunately the episode has some huge misfires. For one, the Creeper himself is pretty much an unstoppable juggernaut, which didn’t make a lot of sense to me. I also think some of the dialogue written for Joker in this episode is pretty bad. And the episode commist the heinous sin of making the Joker look weak, which always sends me up the wall. I think what irks me about this episode the most though is it coming so soon after “Mad Love”. Considering how serious that episode took the Joker and Harley’s relationship, it’s irritating to see them played for laughs so soon after.

109- Judgement Day

Written by Rich Fogel and Alan Burnett. Directed by Curt Geda.

A new vigilante appears calling himself the Judge, though he’s reckless and has no problem with killing off the villains. I really like the episode, for the same reasons I like “Mad Love”. It feels like an old school episode, with no sidekicks and emphasis put on the psychology of the characters. The Judge himself is a pretty cool character, even if some of his courtroom puns can be a bit grating. But his design is cool, he has an awesome voice, and he does feel like a genuine threat. What’s really great though is the end where you find out the Judge’s true identity. It’s a genuinely clever twist that I find very dark and in a way a tad depressing. That’s not to say this episode is perfect though. For example, I wish they could have actually shown the Judge kill someone, since that’s the ultimate line that makes him a villain. I also don’t like the inclusion of the Riddler, who I feel should have been left alone after “Riddler’s Reform”. Still, the pros more than outweigh the cons. This would be the final episode of Batman The Animated Series, and I find it a fitting note. If nothing else, for having that old school feel. But while it would be the final episode, it would not be the end for Batman since there’s still one more direct-to-DVD movie to look at (not to mention Batman Beyond and Justice League).

Movie- Batman: Mystery of the Batwoman

Written by Alan Burnett and Michael Reaves.

“Mystery” sees a new vigilante, the Batwoman appear. She begins her own war against Penguin, Rupert Thorne, and Carlton Duquesne. Batman begins trying to deduce who she is. Unlike “Phantasm” and “Subzero”, this film doesn’t really try to be anything deeper. It’s aim is set at just being a fun adventure film. On that level, it works. The action scenes are good, and I like the design on Batwoman. It’s also cool to see Rupert Thorne again. Bane’s appearance near the end is also pretty badass. But there are problems. For one, I don’t like the new voices for Robin and the Penguin. Also, the whole love angle they play is way too similar to Catwoman. The biggest problem though is a simple question, why was this made? This came out in 2003, four years after the series had concluded. Batman Beyond had already run it’s course, hell Justice League had already began. Everyone had moved on. Now it would make sense if this was some brilliant story that needed to be told, but it isn’t. It doesn’t come close to “Phantasm” or even “Subzero”. It doesn’t add anything to the characters like “Phantasm”, and doesn’t advance the story like “Subzero”. Now does that make “Mystery” bad? No, in fact in the whole it’s a pretty fun ride. I just expect more.

Strongest Episodes (One Per Disc): Never Fear, Over The Edge, Old Wounds, Mad Love

Weakest Episodes (One Per Disc): Cold Comfort, Joker’s Millions, Cult of the Cat, Girls Night Out

Closing Thoughts: I can admit that this was a flawed show. Not all the episodes were stellar and there were some really bad ones. And yet despite all that, this show holds a very special place in my heart. Maybe it’s because I watched it as a child, and consider it a pivotal step toward my interest in storytelling as well as my interest in film. Maybe it’s because after all these years, this show is still my definitive version of Batman. I enjoy a lot of the comics, and I love what Nolan’s done, but the Animated Series is still my Batman bible. Maybe it’s because even the worse episodes have things I like, and the episodes I love, I really love. Whatever the reason, Batman: The Animated Series remains a great show and one of the most important chapters in Batman’s history.

So the question is what now? Well, I plan on doing a list of my top twenty favourite episodes. After that, there’s the other DCAU shows. I can say with certainty that I won’t review Static Shock or The Zeta Project because I hated them as a kid, so I doubt I’d like them now. As for Superman: The Animated Series, Batman Beyond, and Justice League? I might, I don’t wanna say for sure. I own all of them so I know a could, I’m just not sure if I want to dive into another batch of cartoons. But we’ll see.

Comments
  1. Xence says:

    Like it or not folks this was an amazing series. Anyone that says Batman TAS (The animated series) was not a legit show doesn’t know a whole lot. We can thank the writers for this & many other series. Due to this series popularity & very in depth character development we’ve had multiple spin off’s of this. Superman TAS, Justice League, JL Unlimited, Batman Beyond, & now Young Justice. I applaud the creators/writers of these series & hope they continue.

    I hope they continue to employ Kevin Conroy as the voice of Batman even though they didn’t use him for the Young Justice series. I was disappointed when I learned of this. The person they use now does a very good job by all accounts but Kevin Conroy’ voice was to me just perfect for the role.

Leave a Reply

