PG Cooper: Wanderlust Review

Posted: July 13, 2012 by Daniel Simpson (PG Cooper) in PG Cooper's Movie Reviews

Release date: February 24th, 2012

Running time: 1 hour and 38 minutes

Written by: David Wain and Ken Marino

Directed by: David Wain

Starring: Paul Rudd, Jennifer Aniston, and Justin Theroux

George and Linda (Paul Rudd and Jennifer Aniston) are a married couple living in New York City. One day, the company George works for goes under. With no means of income, the two drive to Atlanta to live with George’s brother Rick (Ken Marino) who has offered George a job. On their way, George and Linda stop at a bed and breakfast called Elysium, which turns out to be a weird hippie commune. They have a good time, and the next morning set off for Rick’s. But once the get there, a combination of Rick giving George a shitty job and Rick’s general assholery convince George to go back and love at Elysium. Linda’s apprehensive about Elysium’s bizarre ways, but soon finds herself loving her time there. While George, who wanted to go back, begins to realize he got more than he bargained for.

I can’t imagine this review will be very long, since there’s really not much to say about Wanderlust. Being a comedy, I should address if the film is funny. Unfortunately the film is not, though you can certainly tell their trying. The film throws jokes around at a fairly consistent rate, but few of them work. Even the jokes that do work are only chuckle worthy. Most of the humour is just too broad and stupid; there’s no level of cleverness in any of the jokes. Wanderlust also has a bad habit of running their already weak jokes into the ground by not letting them die. I’ll give the film some credit, I chuckled here and there and there’s also a surprising cameo near the end which I found amusing, but overall, the humour came off as obnoxious and tired.

I like a lot of the actors here, but I can’t give much praise to the cast. Jennifer Aniston just comes off as boring and apart from a few moments where he can let his anger show, Paul Rudd isn’t much better. Some of the hippie characters are extremely annoying in this. I hated the performances from Justin Theroux, Kathryn Hahn, and Kerri Kenney Silver. Perhaps most frustrating is Theroux, whom the film makes the antagonist and thus is in the film a lot. At any rate, all three are really annoying. Ken Marino is also really annoying as George’s scumbag brother. I get that the character is a scumbag, but Marino is trying way too hard. I will say, I kind of liked Joe Lo Trugilo and Jordan Peele, not so much because they were good, but they didn’t make me mad, so that’s a plus. And I liked Alan Alda, because Alan Alda is awesome.

As bad as Wanderlust is, it doesn’t fill me with rage the same way other recent films have, such as Big Miracle and That’s My Boy. Wanderlust is bad and irritating, but not to a level where I’ll remember it. In fact I’m pretty sure I’ll forget I saw it in a few days. That isn’t a good thing, but it’s better than me holding resentment towards this film for the rest of the year.

Rating: D-

Leave a Reply

