HT Schuyler’s Movie Confessions

Posted: July 26, 2012 by htschuyler in Commentary

Movie Confessions was started by the website My Filmviews, a site you should definitely check out because it’s awesome.

After PG Cooper showed us his deepest darkest secrets, I thought it was about time that I shared some of my confessions, as there are many. So sit back, relax, and prepare to question my sanity, here are my Movie Confessions:

Which classic movie don’t you like/can’t enjoy and why?

Okay, try not to hate me (too much at least), but I’m going to have to say Blade Runner.

Okay, first things first, I love Ridley Scott, he’s an incredibly talented director, and I mean that. And also, I don’t HATE this movie, I just can’t really enjoy it because I’ve never made it through it without falling asleep. I’m not kidding, I never fall asleep during movies…intentionally at least, but I tried to watch this movie twice because my friend kept going on about how amazing it was, and at first, I had to agree. Amazing visuals, good acting, solid action, but I just really couldn’t get in to this. I was honestly bored, and like I said, I fell asleep. So I tried again the next day…and fell asleep again. I really don’t know what it is about this movie, probably due to the fact that I’m not crazy about sci-fi films in general, though even really shitty B sci-fi movies have something for me to enjoy, even if it is just the novelty value, but this movie just didn’t do it. I really don’t know what it is, but I’m willing to give it another shot. Cooper recently lent this to me for just that reason, so maybe my opinion will change on an another viewing…and if it doesn’t, at least I’ll get a good nap out of it.

Which ten classic movies haven’t you seen yet? 

The amount of classics I haven’t seen is immense, but I’ll just share with you the 10 most shocking that I haven’t seen:

1.)    The Godfather.

2.)    The Godfather: Part II.

3.)    Scarface.

4.)    12 Angry Men.

5.)    Schindler’s List.

6.)    City of God.

7.)    Aliens.

8.)    Singin’ in the Rain.

9.)    Yojimbo.

10.) Bicycle Thieves.

Yeah, I know, a lot of classics I’m missing out on. The Godfather is actually currently in my possession, so it will be viewed soon. Naturally I want to watch The Godfather before watching The Godfather: Part II, so that explains that. Scarface, Singin’ in the Rain, Schindler’s List and Aliens are also all in my possession; I just need to get around to watching them. As for the other films, trust me I do really want to see them, but again, I just need to get around to them. I’m sure that once I watch them I’ll love all of them, just need more free time I suppose…

Have you ever sneaked into another movie at the cinema?

Haha oh yeah…I mean, did you seriously think I was going to pay for Jack and Jill?

Which actor/actress do you think is overrated?

Will Ferrell.

Yeah, I know people view him as a comedy God and one of the funniest men of all time, but his comedy just doesn’t do it for me. He plays the same loud, obnoxious man child in almost every movie, and I’ve yet to see one of his “comedies” that I liked. I do think he’s a talented actor, because I thought he was great in Stranger Than Fiction, but aside from that I really can’t stand him. I find he’s just loud, immature and has little to no range when it comes to his comedies. I don’t hate him as an actor, but I do think he’s very overrated.

From which big director have you never seen any movie (and why)?

David Lynch. I have had many of his films in my possession, but just never got around to watching them before I had to return them. From what I’ve seen and heard from clips and trailers from his films, his style looks like something I would love. I do plan on doing a David Lynch marathon some day, hopefully soon. Films of his that I’m particularly interested in seeing are Eraserhead, The Elephant Man, Mulholland Dr., and Blue Velvet.

Which movie do you love, but is generally hated?

Oh boy, where do I begin? I tend to love movies that everyone hates, mainly cause a movie doesn’t need to be a 3 hour long artistic tour de force to be considered “good” in my books. As long as the movie appeals to my taste and does something that I enjoy and entertains me, I’ll praise it. Instead of just picking one movie, I’ll just list off a bunch of guilty pleasures that everyone else hates: SAW (I-VII), Dead Silence, Hostel (I&II, haven’t gotten around to III yet), The Grudge (1-3), Boogeyman 2, Final Destination 3, (1&2 tend not to be hated, 4 sucks and I’ve yet to see 5), Scary Movie (1-4), Superhero Movie, Airplane II: The Sequel, Death Sentence…Spider-Man 3… to name a few.

Have you ever been “one of those annoying people” at the cinema?

Only if it’s essential for my survival of the film, (ie Jack and Jill, That`s My Boy, The Devil Inside) but I try my best not to be.

Did you ever watch a movie, which you knew in advance would be bad, just because of a specific actor/actress was in it? Which one and why? 

The first movie that comes to mind is the movie Peacock, which I watched solely for Cillian Murphy performance, and honestly, it wasn’t that bad.

Another example is the wave of B horror movies that tried to make a profit by having the lead actor of the SAW films (Tobin Bell) in them, and you know what? I sought them out, and I watched them. I watched a bunch of shitty movies (Buried Alive, The Haunting Hour, Boogeyman 2 (which I actually liked, see above)), just because of Tobin Bell. As shitty as those movies were, I really liked Bell in them. Even this shit:

Oh, and I will watch ANYTHING with Leslie Nielsen in it.

Did you ever not watch a specific movie because it had subtitles?

Nope, never.

Are there any movies in your collection that you have had for more than five years and never watched?

Lots. The first that come to mind are Braveheart, Waking Ned Devine, Magnolia, to name a few.

Which are the worst movies in your collection and why do you still own them?

Species II, The Slaughterhouse Massacre, Epic Movie, The Rocky Horror Picture Show among others. Why do I still own them? As bad as they are, I don’t believe in throwing out my favourite art form.

Maybe exceptions can be made…

Do you have any confessions about your movie watching setup at home?

I watch most of my movies (Blu-ray or not) on my Playstation 3…does that count?

Any other confessions you want to make?

I tend to watch most movies (foreign or not) with the subtitles on. I do this just to be sure that I don’t miss any of the dialogue, or in case the soundtrack is too loud or whatever.

So that pretty sums up my confessions, I hope you enjoyed reading them, and if you liked this confession feel free to check out others by following this link…http://myfilmviews.com/2012/07/22/movie-confessions-blogathon/#more-6447

-HT Schuyler.

Comments
  1. Nice post. Of your unseen classics, I’ve only seen The Godfather, so I’m not about to rag on you for that. Might on Blade Runner, though… :P

    I’m with you on Will Ferrell… including on thinking he was good in Stranger Than Fiction.

Leave a Reply

