MC Wishchitz’s Movie Confessions

Posted: July 28, 2012 by MC Wishchitz in Commentary

Whelp, since everyone else on the site is doing them, and I want to be in with the cool kids, I return from the grave to give you MC Wishchitz’s Movie Confessions!

Which classic movie don’t you like/can’t enjoy and why?

Call it a cop out if you like, but I didn’t like 2001: A Space Odyssey either.  It’s masterfully done, and I do love Stanley Kubrick, but I found huge parts of that movie to be like watching the first few minutes of Spaceballs on repeat, played completely seriously.

I thought it had serious pacing issues too.

 

Which ten classic films haven’t you seen yet?

Like JJ Silf, there are many classic films I haven’t seen yet. This needs to be remedied. Very quickly.

Without any further ado, here’s my list.

1. Blazing Saddles
2. Rashomon
3.  It’s A Mad Mad Mad Mad World
4. Chinatown
5. Citizen Kane
6. Breakfast At Tiffany’s
7. Metropolis
8. One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest
9. A Streetcar Named Desire
10. The Ten Commandments

Oh yes. I am missing out on quite a lot. But, alas, money is quite scarce at the moment, so going on a rental spree might be out of the question for at least a small spell. I’m determined to see, at least, number one and eight by the end of the month , though.

Have you ever sneaked into another movie at the cinema?

Guilty as charged.  Many don’t seem to catch on to the fact that my affinity for dark clothes is every bit a matter of practicality as it is style.

Which actor/actress do you think is overrated? 

“Cocky” .

“Successful”.

…“Jackass”.

If you ever say those three words to me, one of the people who will come to mind instantly is Alec Baldwin.

Because for me, those three words effectively summarize every part Alec Baldwin has gotten a significant degree of attention for playing, and the only thing that makes that realization even more aggravating for me is the fact that the man is one of those actors who always plays themselves.

Please note that I don’t always find this a bad thing.

 

I can’t help it: Every time Alec Baldwin makes an appearance on film, I just get angry.  (Except for in Rock of Ages, in which I actually thought his banter with Russell Brand made him quite an effective contribution.)

And make no mistake, my disdain for Alec Baldwin is not because he plays cocky successful jackasses: It’s that he gets recognition, respect and money for being a cocky successful jackass. I can’t abide that.

From which big director have you never seen any movie (and why?)

I, like PG Cooper, have never seen anything from Chaplin.

I, like PG Cooper, need to get on that shit, pronto.

 

Then again, if he looked like this…

Which movie did you love, but is generally hated?

 

“The Road To El Dorado” was almost universally condemned by critics, and if memory served, it didn’t do well at the box office either.

…To this day, I don’t see why.

I thought it was quite a funny and clever film. Kevin Kline and Kenneth Branagh proved to be a very witty combination, and I found the premise—Of giving those two comedy relief guys from any given action movie their own movie—To be quite a good one.

…Not to say I don’t think it has its flaws. (Elton John on the soundtrack was just unnecessary and uninspired.)

Does it deserve any Academy Awards? Hell no, but I don’t think a sequel should have been out of the question.

In fact, there was going to be a series, but sadly, for the aforementioned poor box office and poor critical response, it was scrapped.

Pity.

Have you ever been “one of those annoying people” at the cinema? 

Like the other guys, only when being so is essential to my survival, and if the theatre is relatively empty.

 

Did you ever watch a movie, which you knew in advance would be bad, just because of a specific actor/actress was in it? Which one and why?

 

Ask my friends, family and some of my exes:

I have a bit of an obsession with Natalie Portman.

This lead me to sneak into “Your Highness”, which I was also hoping would be good, because of James Franco, and I actually enjoyed the swearing amidst Old English and the concept of a stoner film set in medieval times.
….For all of thirty minutes.

Suffice to say, I regretted my decision, but I did it for Portman.

…And for Portman, I’d do it again.

Did you ever not watch a specific movie because it has subtitles?

Never.

In some cases, such as when the other choice is the dub, I find watching the subtitled version to be a more fulfilling and poetic experience, particularly in Japanese animation. (I’m looking at you, Princess Mononoke.)

 

 

Are there any movies in your collection that you have had for more than five years and never watched?

 Nope. The idea of me buying something and not using it for five years? Insanity!

Which are the worst movies in your collection and why do you still own them?

Thick As Thieves.

With motherfucking Alec Baldwin.

I remember getting this for Christmas. The first time I watched it, I felt like I got bitch-slapped by Santa Claus.

The reason why I keep it around is because I like to tape it to the wall before getting drunk and throwing things at it, as I angrily lament having received it that Christmas Morning.

I also wasn’t a huge fan of Cloverfield at first, although that could be because I accidently bought it when I thought I was renting it. (Upon retrospect, ten dollars was a little much for a rental…) HT Schuyler persuaded me to give it another chance, but I haven’t watched it since we watched it together one time.

I’m afraid it’s going to be just as bad as it was the first time.

Do you have any confessions about your movie watching set up at home?

 I watch pretty much all of my DVDs on my Xbox-360, because, to this day, I have trouble operating my DVD player.

Any other confessions you want to make? 

I cried bitch tears at the end of Toy Story 3.

And you did, too.

Anyway, I guess that’s all for me. But if you want to see some more, you should direct thine mouse thisaway.

Thanks for reading~

Comments
  1. […] James The Film Emporium Terry Malloy’s Pigeon Coop Written in Blood Keith & The Movies MC Wishchitz’s Movie Confessions (on PG Cooper’s Movie reviews) Head in a Vice Marked Movies An Online Universe Exiled from Contentment Stuff from P.D. Wide Weird […]

  2. catjig says:

    “I cried bitch tears at the end of Toy Story 3.

    And you did, too.”

    Thank you for that. It always feels good when other people admit they did it too. Although, for some reason it’s slightly more socially acceptable when girls do it..

    Also, I’d do a lot for Portman to, I think quite a lot of people would agree.

  3. MC Wishchitz says:

    For me, it’s not a question of what I would do for Portman so much as what I *wouldn’t*.

    Also, yeah. At this point, I feel as if you have no soul if you didn’t grow up with those movies and didn’t feel *something*.

  4. brikhaus says:

    Several of your titles have already been reviewed in my “Classically Shitty” segment. It looks like you needn’t bother with them: Blazing Saddles, Citizen Kane, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, 2001, and The Hustler. http://awesomelyshitty.wordpress.com/category/classically-shitty/

  5. htschuyler says:

    Man, The Road To El Dorado was awesome!………Tobin Bell was in it….

    • MC Wishchitz says:

      The only thing that makes me happier than the fact that you agree is the fact that you know about Tobin Bell’s appearance. Hahaha~

  6. […] from James The Film Emporium Terry Malloy’s Pigeon Coop Written in Blood Keith & The Movies MC Wishchitz’s Movie Confessions (on PG Cooper’s Movie reviews) Head in a Vice Marked Movies An Online Universe Exiled from Contentment Stuff from P.D. Wide Weird […]

Leave a Reply

