PG Cooper: The Ballad of Gomer Pyle (Full Metal Jacket Poem)

Posted: August 25, 2012 by Daniel Simpson (PG Cooper) in Movie Poems

*I was recently part of a Writer’s Craft class. During our poetry unit, we hard to write a variety of poems about any subject of our choosing. Naturally, all of mine were about movies, and I thought I’d share some of them here.

For Hartman I must commit

He wants my ass for the core

I am in a world of shit

.

For this task I don’t know if I’m fit

My body is aching and sore

For Hartman I must commit

.

I’m tired and sick and wanna forfeit

I wan’t out please show me the door

I am in a world of shit

.

I’m going insane I can’t take this shit

I’m called names not fit for a whore

For Hartman I must commit

.

I can’t sink any lower in this pit

I yearn to wash on a new shore

I am in a world of shit

.

I’m thinking of death I must admit

I swear I can’t take anymore

For Hartman I must commit

I am in a world of shit

Comments
  1. Mark Walker says:

    Very good PG. I like this very much sir.

  2. brikhaus says:

    lol Awesome poem!

  3. ckckred says:

    Nice poem. I just saw Full Metal Jacket recently and loved it.

Leave a Reply

