PG Cooper: Oscar Nomination Thoughts

Posted: January 10, 2013 by Daniel Simpson (PG Cooper) in Commentary

Just some bullet points expressing my opinions on what was nominated.

-Shocked that both Ben Affleck and Kathryn Bigelow were passed over for Best Director. This more or less rules out any shot  of Argo or Zero Dark Thirty winning Best Picture. I expected those films to be the front runners, along with Lincoln. Affleck was snubbed.

-Given the last point, the front runners have obviously changed. Lincoln is the obvious front runner, and I’d put Life of Pi and especially Silver Linings Playbook as the dark horses. I’m definitely on board with Silver Linings Playbook, one of the year’s best.

-Surprised that Beasts of the Southern Wild and Amour scored Best Director nominations.

-I’m annoyed Les Miserables scored a nomination for Best Picture, but I’m not surprised. Besides, no nomination for director Tom Hooper torpedoes any shot that film had at winning Best Picture.

-As much as I enjoyed Django Unchained, I’m not upset Tarantino didn’t get a director nomination; I wouldn’t have nominated him either. Picture and original screenplay are enough.

-DiCaprio not getting nominated is surprising given it was his first time playing a villain. Not a snub necessarily, just surprising.

-Jacki Weaver’s nomination is shocking to me.

-I liked Alan Arkin in Argo, but it isn’t an Oscar worthy turn.

Moonrise Kingdom definitely deserved more, but I’m happy with a Original Screenplay nod.

-Robert De Niro’s first Oscar nomination in over twenty years. Well deserved.

-With five nominations, Skyfall is the most nominated Bond film ever.

-Speaking of Skyfall, Deakins’ cinematography was nominated.

-Paul Thomas Anderson was unfairly ignored. No nominations for Writing or Directing.

-On the plus side, The Master‘s principle actors were all nominated, which is very well deserved.

Prometheus was snubbed for Production Design.

-First time a Peter Jackson adventure in Middle Earth was NOT nominated for Best Picture

-Great films not nominated for Best Picture: Chronicle, Looper, Moonrise Kingdom, Skyfall, The Master, Prometheus, The Avengers, and The Raid. Not that I expected these films to be nominated, but just thought I’d mention them.

-I have yet to see: Zero Dark Thirty, Amour, Beasts of the Southern Wild, and Life of Pi.

Overall, not a bad selection in spite of my problems. At this point I’m betting on Lincoln winning top honours, but of the front runners, I’m pulling for Silver Linings Playbook. 

Comments
  1. Jordi Mady says:

    Absolutely agree with the Production Design snub for Prometheus and with Silver Linings winning Best Picture. I think Lincoln will win, though.

  2. “I liked Alan Arkin in Argo, but it isn’t an Oscar worthy turn.”

    I agree. I’d say that same thing about De Niro though. Just because he finally played a good part in a good movie again doesnt mean they should laud him with an Oscar nom. LOL

    I was pretty surprised that DiCaprio didnt get a nom as well. I thought he did a great job plaing evil…

  3. BrikHaus says:

    It’s always annoying when stuff that hasn’t been released or just came out (Zero Dark Thirty, Amour) get nominated. Most people haven’t even seen them yet, so they are getting nominated by a small group of people who typically enjoy shitty movies and the smell of their own farts.

    I’m glad Roger Deakins got a nomination for Skyfall, and that should definitely win. Yes, this was Peter Jackson’s first Middle Earth movie to not get nominated for Best Picture – and it definitely didn’t deserve a nomination like that. Honestly, you didn’t really think Looper or The Avengers were going to get those nominations from The Academy?

    Overall, I think you’re right about one thing: Lincoln will eat up most of the awards. Although, Silver Linings Playbook may surprise us all a grab a few, possibly Best Picture.

    • pgcooper1939 says:

      I didn’t expect Looper or The Avengers to be nominated, just wanted to list some of my favourites of the year which weren’t acknowledged.

      I wish the system wasn’t organized so only a few people can see a lot of the “awards” type films. I want to see Zero Dark Thirty, I just haven’t been able to yet. Hopefully this weekend.

  4. I complete agree that Moonrise Kingdom deserved more nominations. That was such a great movie and I’m shocked that many have been overlooking it. I was actually a little bit disappointed that Life of Pi grabbed a Best Picture spot. I just didn’t think that movie was Best Picture worthy but the Academy loves Ang Lee so I’m not entirely surprised. I really think that The Dark Knight Rises should have at least earned a Best Picture nomination just to pay tribute to the trilogy. I’m probably alone in that but I loved the hell out of that movie. On another note, I just watched Beasts of Southern Wild and I must say I was very impressed with that movie. I was worried that it would be completely overhyped but it lived up to the praise.

    -Steve

  5. Chris says:

    The Avengers my ass, for a Razzi maybe!

  6. alysonkrier says:

    Great points, I feel the same way, especially about Moonrise Kingdom deserving more, but just happy for its nomination. So Skyfall is the most nominated Bond film ever? Love that!

Leave a Reply

